PDA

View Full Version : Logging & sharing observations

Clear Skies
April 22nd, 2012, 08:59 PM
Hi all,

As a new member of this forum I very much look forward to the many observations all of you undoubtedly have logged over the years. As a great fan of AstroPlanner (http://www.astroplanner.net) I have been using the application for several years to log all of my observations. How are you logging yours? How do you share them?

Cheers,

Victor

deepskytraveler
April 23rd, 2012, 02:59 AM
Hi Victor,

Welcome to Deep Sky Forum.

For the last few years I've been logging my observations into Sky Tools 3 Pro. In most cases I take handwritten notes while observing and then after the observing session I manually enter everything into Sky Tools. Though this process works okay it is fairly cumbersome, particularly when I have a large number of objects to enter. Even though I use Sky Tools for planning ahead what objects I will observe, I actually use MegaStar at the scope. Sure wish MegaStar had integrated logging capability. Since it doesn't I have conjured up a pseudo logging process which allows me to capture an object's data box from MegaStar along with a date & time stamp. This way I don't have to remember to manually record the time for each observation. Then before I enter the log entries in Sky Tools I transcribe the times from this MegaStar log into my handwritten log notes.

-Mark

rmollise
April 25th, 2012, 05:16 PM
I'm using SkyTools 3 Pro as well. While I like AstroPlanner very much, SkyTools is just a little more responsive on a Windows machine than AP. I also like the extensive charting resources of ST3--which are as good as anything available IMHO.

But, anyway, at the scope (or monitor if I'm using the Mallincam Xtreme), I speak notes into a little Sony MP3 recorder. Back home, I transcribe them into Microsoft Word, and, when done, cut and paste into SkyTools' logbook.

Clear Skies
April 25th, 2012, 06:15 PM