Thread: Logging & sharing observations

Post Logging & sharing observations

Hi all,

As a new member of this forum I very much look forward to the many observations all of you undoubtedly have logged over the years. As a great fan of AstroPlanner (http://www.astroplanner.net) I have been using the application for several years to log all of my observations. How are you logging yours? How do you share them?

Cheers,

Victor
    Victor van Wulfen

clearskies.eu - Clear Skies Observing Guides - CSOG - Blog - Observing Log - Observing Sessions

SQM is nothing, transparency is everything.

Hi Victor,

Welcome to Deep Sky Forum.

For the last few years I've been logging my observations into Sky Tools 3 Pro. In most cases I take handwritten notes while observing and then after the observing session I manually enter everything into Sky Tools. Though this process works okay it is fairly cumbersome, particularly when I have a large number of objects to enter. Even though I use Sky Tools for planning ahead what objects I will observe, I actually use MegaStar at the scope. Sure wish MegaStar had integrated logging capability. Since it doesn't I have conjured up a pseudo logging process which allows me to capture an object's data box from MegaStar along with a date & time stamp. This way I don't have to remember to manually record the time for each observation. Then before I enter the log entries in Sky Tools I transcribe the times from this MegaStar log into my handwritten log notes.

-Mark
    Last edited by deepskytraveler; April 23rd, 2012 at 03:08 AM.
    Clear Skies,

Mark Friedman
    Wheaton, IL USA

I'm using SkyTools 3 Pro as well. While I like AstroPlanner very much, SkyTools is just a little more responsive on a Windows machine than AP. I also like the extensive charting resources of ST3--which are as good as anything available IMHO.