Thread: M 57 outer outer halo?

M 57 outer outer halo?

Seeking followup observations!

Last new moon, I went to a dark sky site in north-eastern California, near the tiny town of Likely, CA. I had good but not excellent transparency, and I had only moderate seeing. For this reason, I would rate the skies as a Bortle 2. But I could definitely get hints of the Zodiacal Band, especially around the Gegenschein, on all three nights that I spent in the area. I'll write a full OR of all 50-odd objects I observed in a separate post, but in this thread, I want to discuss something I noticed that surprised me, and on which I would appreciate follow up of other deep observers.

Firstly I must admit that I'm still learning to push the limits of what my eyes can see through my scope, and sometimes I toe the line between observation and "noise in my vision system" -- occasionally, I still do make observations that do seem false, so I am happy to stand corrected on the following observation if proven wrong. But the coincidence does seem rather amazing to be an accident.

I'm not sure where I first learned about the M57 outer halo, but apparently, I tried it first at GSSP last year. My notes on Jun 30 2019 say "With a Lumicon UHC on a 10mm Delos, I sensed max thickness on the northern side towards the IC galaxy."

In any case, I decided to give it another shot this time on Oct 15 2020. My logs read:
    "Best view in 10mm Delos. Looks very raggedy and spikey. Strongest sensation on WNW side. Really, present all around but strongest WNW. In UHC, glow seems more spikey, but more isotropic."

Now, that's referring to the immediate outer halo that hugs the ring, as seen in this contrast-enhanced POSSII blue plate
    M57.png