Thread: Object Of The Week February 14, 2020 ? The galaxies behind M 44

Object Of The Week February 14, 2020 ? The galaxies behind M 44

NGC 2624, NGC 2625, NGC 2637, NGC 2643, NGC 2647, IC 2388, UGC 4526

Galaxy Chain

Constellation: Cancer

RA: 08 41 36 (center of M 44)
    DEC: +19 35 32 (center of M 44)

Mag: 14.5 and fainter

I wanted to write this OOTW 5 years ago already, when I made my observations of these galaxies, but unfortunately Sky and Telescope dedicated an article exactly to this so I chose a different object then. However, I still think this is a nice challenge so here we go!

My fascination with these galaxies started in 1998, when I was an undergrad student visiting the NRAO in Socorro, New Mexico, to work on VLA data for my graduation thesis. An Indian PHD student and me had discovered an amateur observatory just outside of Socorro and we quickly got permission to visit whenever we wanted and to use the 20? Dobson telescope that they had there. The library of NRAO had a copy of the Uranometria 2000 and I already noticed that several galaxies were plotted behind M 44. However, this was my first time this far south (the Netherlands are at a latitude of 52? north and so far I had only been to the South of France at 45? north) and my first time under a spring sky with such a big telescope. Therefore I spent my precious observing hours on many other interesting objects.