Thread: 4 very small Protoplanetaries

4 very small Protoplanetaries

With the beginning of this year 2013 I have started to observe protoplanetary nebulae from the list by Reiner Vogel: http://www.reinervogel.net/index.html

I studied the brighter ones like Frosty Leo, Minkowski 1-92, Minkowski 2-9 and the Egg Nebula earlier this year, and have now turned to the fainter and smaller objects. After ruling out those nebulae that are too faint or lower than Dec. -25 (I observe from 48 N), I ended up with four objects: Henize 3-1475 (Garden Sprinkler) in Ophiuchus, MWC 922 (Red Square Nebula) in Serpens (not to be confused with the Red Rectangle in Monoceros), IRAS 19024+0044 in Aquila, and IRAS 19234+1627 in Sagitta. These are experimental observations. I was just curious to find out what is possible regarding these very small objects for us amateurs.

1. Henize 3-1475 (Garden Sprinkler)
    17 45 15
    -17 56 46

Theory:
    The Garden Sprinkler is the brightest, largest and best known of these three objects. There is a spectacular Hubble photo that also explains its nickname:
    GardenSprpotw1241a.jpg
    [img]GardenSprpotw1241a.jpg[/img]
    http://www.spacetelescope.org/images/potw1241a/

The Garden Sprinkler is listed with a blue magnitude of 13.8. Thus it is well within the range of medium sized telescopes. Its overall length is 10’’ and its maximum width is 2.5’’. There is a very nice comparison of Minkowski 1-92 (Minkowski’s Footprint) and Henize 3-1475 in an article by M. Manteiga et al., published in the Astronomical Journal 141 (2011). Please follow this link, scroll down to Figure 5 and click for “High Resolution Image”:
    http://iopscience.iop.org/1538-3881/141/3/80/fulltext/