Administrator/Co-Founder Dragan's Avatar

Object of the Week July 21, 2013 - NGC4656 The Hockey Stick

NGC 4656 The Hockey Stick

Canes Venatici

12 43 57.7
    32 10 05

Type: SB(s)m Pec IV

Mag: 11.0 Size: 9.1’x1.7’

So keeping with the spirit of my beloved Chicago Blackhawks winning the 2013 Stanley Cup last month, I thought it would be fitting to choose this object as an OOTW. Not only is it a great object, but it actually does tend to resemble its moniker.

I’ve been observing NGC 4656 regularly for quite a few years now and each time I return, I would take for granted what my Megastar & Uranometria would depict. And that was NGC4656 and 4657 were two separate galaxies. The assumption is that 4657 is interacting with 4656 causing the gravitational distortion that was creating the “blade” of the hockey stick. But once I started my research for this OOTW, I stumbled onto something. (This BTW, is one of the reasons why working on an OOTW is so great. You learn so much!) I found that this may not be the case.

What I stumbled upon was a few internet sources that made the claim that the nearby Whale Galaxy NGC 4631(worthy of its own OOTW if you ask me) was the one distorting NGC 4656 and not 4657. Redshift measurements of the two galaxies do clearly show that the two are part of the same galaxy group. But in those same papers and sources, I found no reference to 4657 being an interacting object. I did find various websites making the assumption that 4656 and 4657 were interacting, but I found no credible evidence to prove it. So it got me to digging. Was NGC4657 a real galaxy or was it a misidentification? Even Hyperleda comes back with 4656 when you do a search for 4657.