Thread: Newbie sketching tips/tricks

Administrator/Co-Founder Dragan's Avatar

Newbie sketching tips/tricks

Hey all,

Well, I finally decided I'll give sketching a go. To all the sketchers on the group, what are some good tips/tricks you would recommend? What about supplies? What should I have and what is just not needed? And what about technique?

Howard, I hear you may know a thing or two about sketching What can you tell me to help me get started? How do you like to do things?

Thanks everybody! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!
    Clear Dark Skies,
    Dragan Nikin
    25" f/5 Obsession #610 "Toto"
    30" f/4.5 OMI EVO #1 "Tycho"
    www.darkskiesapparel.com

I am not an expert but at least occasionally sketch in the last years.

1) A schematic in ballpen alongside written notes. Easy on dark adaptation and on observing time. Probably not what you had in mind though.

2) A digital drawing, based on memory and on a schematic done in the field. At home using such tools as a pressure- and tilt-sensitive computer pen tablet and a program like Corel Sketch Pad (simulator of traditional drawing tools). Again probably not what people have in mind when talking of astronomical sketching.

3) A standard sketch book with heavy paper, a standard automatic pencil, a blending stump, and a smaller blending stump (tortillon), a standard eraser, a soft "art gum" eraser. Make a pool of graphite with the pencil on the side of the page, pick up and deposit some with the blender for nebulosity. Use the smaller tortillon for finer and sharper details in nebulosity; for sharpest details deposit some graphite directly with the pencil on the sketch and blend (smooth out) with the tortillon. Standard eraser for outright errors and for sharp edges in the nebulosity, such as nice dust lanes. "Art gum" eraser for more subtly working out the nebulosity by removing some graphite from areas. Add stars with the pencil.