Thread: 24.4" truss dob first & second light report

24.4" truss dob first & second light report

Hi everyone! This my first post in DeepSkyforum!

On 9th July Saturday was the second light. Same company (Vassilios Katzourakis, Dimitris Manousos and Manos Tsikalas) gathered in a dark location (sqm 21.55) 45 minutes away and in more than 1000 meters high. There were some guests this time too. Transparency was good but seeing was limited.
    The moon was up until 00:00 so after assembling the scope quite easily, only me needed, I started playing with the moon. 230x with the 10mm Ethos was a great view so started experimenting and upped magnification to 450x using a cheap 5mm orthoscopic eyepiece. View was better than before and a specific crater I was looking was more detailed. I put a barlow and magnification became 900x. First time I was using so high magnification and I must confess image of the crater on this magnification was crystal clear and reminded me and the other guys, some 60s old movies of the moon! We passed by Jupiter but above 140x using my 17mm Nagler wasn't good due to bad seeing.

At about 00:20 the scope pointed something serious, Arp 32. It has 2 galaxies a+b. a is UGC 10770 and was the visible in direct vision. b was easily spotted using indirekt vision 100% of the time and was seen by all of us. It is a 17 mag galaxy!

Later we had the scope pointing near M13. Ethos 10mm was used and here is the picture: It was a small bright part of M13 on the right looking magificent, NGC 6207 looking rich on the left of field of view and the tiny IC 4617 on the center! That was spectacular view even though IC 4617 was indirect! Next was Stephan's Quintet which was screaming out of the eyepiece in fully direct vision and showing some detail too!